New here? Register in under one minute   Already a member? Login224808 questions, 977250 answers  

  DearCupid.ORG relationship advice
  Got a relationship, dating, love or sex question? Ask for help!Search
 New Questions Answers . Most Discussed Viewed . Unanswered . Followups . Forums . Top agony aunts . About Us .  Articles  . Sitemap

Opinions on women going braless

Tagged as: Health<< Previous question   Next question >>
Question - (24 March 2009) 26 Answers - (Newest, 5 December 2010)
A female Canada age 30-35, anonymous writes:

Well I have been doing some research and I keep finding out that it has never been proven that bras help keep breast firm, or stop them from sagging. I've been thinking about this issue, and what bras mean in the bigger picture, and I just don't think I want to wear them anymore. I have smallish breasts and it doesn't really look better to wear a bra. I find them uncomfortable, expensive to buy, and just a fuss really.

So my question is, what do you guys think about women going braless? I'd like to hear from men and women. The other day I mentioned this to a friend and she instantly said it was slutty. I totally disagree with her. I don't see anything wrong with it. What are your opinions...?

View related questions: breasts

<-- Rate this Question

Reply to this Question


Share

Fancy yourself as an agony aunt? Add your answer to this question!

A male reader, BreastMan Macedonia +, writes (5 December 2010):

I have no issue with females who go braless, it is perfectly ok even for those with large breasts or if the nipples show thru the fabric.

However, honestly, when I am with a girl, and she takes her top off I would prefer if i see a pair of nice breasts " imprisoned " in a sexy bra, rather then having them on desplay right away. We Breast Men, dont just love the breasts, we also adore anything related to them. I have more things to say but I realize this is not an erotic forum so this would be the short version :)

<-- Rate this answer

A female reader, anonymous, writes (18 September 2010):

I have 36DD breasts that I am told are very lovely. As an artist, going just about anywhere in a black tank top (without a bra) wearing my size 6 (nicely fitting) jeans just feels "right" to me. I've worn bras most of my life but find recently that it feels better without a bra. My tank tops pretty much hold the girls where they should be. If it bothers women clerks in stores, etc. I just accept it because I'm used to women being jealous of me. I just smile and know that MEN love how I look.

<-- Rate this answer

...............................   

A female reader, LoveAndLiberty United States +, writes (18 September 2010):

Oh, as an addendum...

1) Research is now showing that restrictive bras keep the lymph vessels from moving toxins out. This is a known cause of breast cancer. I wonder if there's a correlation between those tight little push-up bras from Victoria's Secret that women think they have to have to fit in (or stand out) and so much breast cancer these days. There's a book on this subject...I'll post it when I can remember the title. The natural movement is healthier, feels better, and makes a political statement. Why don't men, who invented bras (not that long ago) wear them?

; )

<-- Rate this answer

...............................   

A female reader, LoveAndLiberty United States +, writes (18 September 2010):

I stopped wearing any underwear this Summer. I did it as a surprise for my boyfriend and I only told him after we arrived at our destination. He liked it and so did I so I continued. I feel more sensual and confident. I have small to medium breasts and very firm for a woman of any age. I never had children so they are where they've always been even though I just turned 44. I've continued it, because I live for me, not for my boyfriend, or anyone else. (Co-dependence is never good.)

I've never felt better, and the no underwear is just a small part of my liberation. I've never been closer and had more fun with my boyfriend either. Remember the only meaning something has is the meaning YOU give it. Decide for yourself what you want it to mean and live from that. Those who have different opinions are okay because they too have a right to their own. Most of all, have fun and be happy.

(Breasts are not pornographic, neither are nipples - some of the posts here are quite strange, indeed!)

<-- Rate this answer

...............................   

A female reader, anonymous, writes (23 August 2010):

According to the people who sell these torture devices, I'm a 30G and still growing...

But screw that, I'm 25 and I've worn a bra for over ten years, enough is enough.

I've decided over the last week that it's too damned expensive, not to mention uncomfortable - nay, painful, to constantly wear a bra. I'm going to find a comfortable vest, or camisole - just to keep them in place more than anything :)

I've got to say that I do feel quite liberated. No more straps digging into my shoulders, no more 'double boob', no more bloody underwiring - that stuff is the devil. No more listening to people who tell you 'it's slutty', to hell with it! Thank God almighty, I am free at last!

p.s It's a myth that wearing a bra all the time stops your boobs dropping. No matter how much you wear a bra, they are going to sag to some degree, check Google, medical studies have shown there's no stopping it, it's just nature, so you may aswell be comfortable.

<-- Rate this answer

...............................   

A male reader, anonymous, writes (22 August 2010):

I as a husband LOVES for my wife to go braless when we go out of town. I love the look of the nipples against the fabric. She owns several sheer and see thru tops to show off her 38DD's. She as a wife knows I like it and she likes the attention it gives her. She is 50 years, 5'0" tall and a LOT of titty's to show !

<-- Rate this answer

...............................   

A male reader, heartfullalove Ireland +, writes (17 August 2010):

heartfullalove agony auntDead funny stuff from Jess444!

I bet Q is fiercely opposed to the idea

<-- Rate this answer

...............................   

A reader, anonymous, writes (16 August 2010):

Ya, it's slutty. Oh, I love to see it, but I'd be aghast if my wife did it in public.

<-- Rate this answer

...............................   

A male reader, jess4444 United States +, writes (16 August 2010):

Going braless is absolutely NOT slutty at all.Why would you want to feel like a "prisoner" when you have nicely shaped breasta which should have there natural freedom,jiggling around with those sexy nipples poking out thru your top?

It's great and very sexy and lovely to go braless if you have beautiful boobs.Men love women who don't make the bra their faithful friend but would rather prefer go braless.It is fantastic and from now on you should go regularly braless without any fear.My wife does it for me all the time because she simply likes it and also she knows i love that very much.Nothing better than seeing a lovely pair of breasts jigling around with every move you make or simply when you burst into laughters.Absolutely awesome view and fantactic movement.Way to go girl...go for it...go absolutely brassless and let those lovely erect nipples poking thru almost piercing thru your top,who cares?Just do it and you don't need people's opinion..it is your body, not theirs,so go more often braless Baby!!

<-- Rate this answer

...............................   

A reader, anonymous, writes (5 November 2009):

Um yes it does, hwen you don't where a brah it allows the tissue and skin to stretch more when you are moving, and thus like elastic, they loses their spring quicker. And Regardless, I find that it looks cheap / didn't have time to find my brah this morning.

<-- Rate this answer

...............................   

A female reader, Tayfabulous United States +, writes (3 November 2009):

I think it is fine to go braless but you should definitely keep your nipples covered! There is a great silicone nipple cover called DIMRS and I wear them whenever I go braless. They're inexpensive and one pair will last you a VERY long time, even if you wear them everyday. I got mine at www.ishopatscene.com/shop1.html

<-- Rate this answer

...............................   

A male reader, Beethovenfan United States +, writes (9 October 2009):

As a man who admires the female form, and one who has not worn underwear in years, I greatly appreciate the woman with the courage to go braless. I have dated a couple in my younger years who never wore a bra. It doesn't bother me if other guys look. And as for being slutty? C'mon you girls worry too much. I don't think it's slutty unless she's pulling them out in public;-)

I'm always going to look whether you wear a bra or not, so the prudishness is unnecessary, and I love the way the breasts look unharnessed under clothing. I actually have great respect for a woman who goes braless in public.

<-- Rate this answer

...............................   

A female reader, kissxmexagainx United States +, writes (6 April 2009):

kissxmexagainx agony auntI'm a 34D [actually a 32DD but I can never find bras in my size] and I don't always wear a bra, but when I go a whole day without one, my breasts hurt so bad! also I can't run or anything without one.

but I think they're in great shape regardless of the fact that I sometimes go braless && they're pretty big, because I tried the pencil trick and it didn't stay put at all =]

<-- Rate this answer

...............................   

A female reader, SirenaBlusera Mexico +, writes (5 April 2009):

SirenaBlusera agony auntIt just looks unpolished... no matter what size you are, I've always felt weird without one. I feel almost naked.

I feel strange about going outside if not fully dressed, because something feels like it's missing. I can't even stand to walk around without earrings. The empty holes make me feel naked (I have 2 in one ear, 3 in the other). Being without proper underwear makes me feel like I'm having one of those nightmares (where you're naked in front of the entire class).

<-- Rate this answer

...............................   

A female reader, Legioness United Kingdom +, writes (25 March 2009):

Legioness agony auntAh i've been a lazy cow the last couple of days and just been indoors in my pajamas, lol, wearing no bra, and i'm a C cup, not a particularly big one at that, I usually wear a bra ALL the time, but within those two days without a bra i've definately noticed a change in my boobs, so i've come to the conclusion that gravity certainly does have an effect on them, even in a relatively short space of time :s lol x Becky x

<-- Rate this answer

...............................   

A female reader, birdynumnums Canada +, writes (25 March 2009):

birdynumnums agony auntMy husband recently remarked that my breasts "have held up nicely", but that because I have worn VERY supportive bras all my life, and I am a C cup. I also agree with eyes that having the temperature read by my chest isn't pleasant when you notice that men are noticing - and then you lose their attention to everything else. AND my daughter of 23 is of the same opinion and always wears a good firm bra. If the people responding to this have mostly been pro, I can add that a life-long flat chested friend recently posted a picture with major cleavage, and she has never been a bra fan - and those babies were heading south for the winter... (just between you, me and the doorpost...). Oops, did I say that out loud?

<-- Rate this answer

...............................   

A male reader, Cerberus Ireland + , writes (25 March 2009):

Cerberus agony auntBraless or not nearly everything is considered slutty these days, except maybe tracksuit pants and a hoodie, so don't worry about that.

As most of the female posters have already stated wearing a bra does prevent future sag in bigger breasted women.

Guy's love the no bra look on firm chested women and generally smaller chests are firmer, except of course those surgically mutated, abnormally symmetrical plastic ones (can't wait to see the future results of that crazy fad in 20 years, I get a mental image of something resembling testicles hanging off "augmented" womens chests, could call them chesticles, hehe) anyway I've gone way off the point.

Depending on the top you wear you will get a lot of attention going braless.

Don't worry about the nipples poking out either, just look at Jennifer Aniston in friends I don't think she's ever had a scene where her nips weren't poking out.

Above all do what feels good and comfortable.

<-- Rate this answer

...............................   

A male reader, Danielepew Mexico + , writes (24 March 2009):

Danielepew agony auntI've heard very often that bras do help maintain breasts firm. I think this is one aspect in which perhaps you should err on the side of caution; that is to say, maybe you should wear a good bra. Whether you will do it or not, that's your business.

I'm sure many men will look at your bosom no matter whether you have a bra or not :-). If you want extra attention, however, then go without a bra. Just don't complain about men staring. This is why your friend thinks that going without a bra is "slutty". It is not, but it has consequences.

<-- Rate this answer

...............................   

A female reader, anonymous, writes (24 March 2009):

Haha! The only way I'll get a pencil to stay there is with a spell :) Thanks for all your input guys!

<-- Rate this answer

...............................   

A male reader, saltwater United Kingdom +, writes (24 March 2009):

saltwater agony auntWell, from a guy's perspective, some men won't be bothered, some will certainly stare to try to figure out if you're wearing a bra or not (men have a habit of staring at breasts...), and others will think it's hot...but virtually no man will think it's bad, that's for sure!

<-- Rate this answer

...............................   

A female reader, natasia United Kingdom +, writes (24 March 2009):

natasia agony auntI think the mini-vests thing is a good idea. And be careful about that business that they 'won't sag' if you go bra-less - I'm not so sure. I certainly am not going to risk it with my daughter. She is going to have the most expensive, comfortable and ergonomically advanced bras on the market : ) ... as soon as they start to show. Because it's all very well letting everything hang out and making love in a tent etc, etc ... but there comes a moment when you look at other much more buttoned up cultures and how svelte and perfect they look at 50, and then you take a glance at our blowsy 20 year olds ... and you think, 'oh fxxk!'

Sorry for that. But ... well, I think it's lovely sometimes to be without one, but as a general rule I would go for some support, even if only very light in a vest thing, and I'd also go for some modesty. It is quite cool to be modest. Easy to be easy.

nx

<-- Rate this answer

...............................   

A female reader, wonderingcat United Kingdom +, writes (24 March 2009):

wonderingcat agony auntIf you have small breasts (32A or 32B at the most), it makes very little difference wearing or not wearing a bra. But, like EyesWideOpen said, when you sweat, your clothes stick to your skin and people turn their heads to look at you. If you are comfortable with this, that's fine then. If not, wear a bra.

I like wearing bra when I am out, but they are the sexy lacy ones. They look as sluttish as not wearing a bra actually LOL. But yes, they are a bit expensive. But these sexy bras are meant just for that, being sexy. Plus, it's fun when they peek through your slightly open top, or the lace designs are seen through your thin silk shirt. [wink]

With small breasts, gravity is a bit kinder than to larger ones.

Another alternative to bras of course is wearing stretch lacy or knitted under-shirt (like a man's singlet). Or silk camisole. [Actually, these are a lot more expensive than bras ... so what am I talking about? lol]

Cat

<-- Rate this answer

...............................   

A female reader, Emilysanswers United Kingdom +, writes (24 March 2009):

If you are lucky enough to have a small chest then go for it. Enjoy the fact you are able to bounce.

If you have big boobs then it is a simple fact that gravity will have an effect on them because they are heavy and your skin will stretch.

If you have small ones then the tissue is too close to the ribs to really droop.

So all you have to worry about is your nipples showing really.

Would you consider what we used to call "mini-vests?"

I used to wear them as kind of a half way bra when I was too small to have a real bra but old enough to desperately want one.

Good Luck!! xx

<-- Rate this answer

...............................   

A female reader, eyeswideopen United States +, writes (24 March 2009):

eyeswideopen agony auntAhhhh the 60's are back!!!!! Speaking as an ex-hippie I'll share what the pundits were saying back in the day. If you can put a pencil underneath a breast and it stays there (not pointy end in first mind you) then you need to wear a bra. If it immediately falls down then you can go braless with no worries. I myself wear a bra because I don't like men being able to tell what the temperature is by looking at my chest.

<-- Rate this answer

...............................   

A female reader, desirewhitefire Austria +, writes (24 March 2009):

desirewhitefire agony auntI'd put at least a tank top or an undershirt on so your nipples don't show through your clothes. But other than that, what ever floats your boat!

<-- Rate this answer

...............................   

A female reader, kaylagal United States +, writes (24 March 2009):

kaylagal agony auntYou have small one so you don't need to wear a bra. My gf is a size b and she never wears one. I'm a 34D and need a bra everyday. If I didn't wear a bra that would definitely be slutty, it would just be too much. Yes, bras are expensive. Everytime I go bra shopping, I always wish I had small tatas coz I'ld never wear one.

If you don't wear a bra just make sure your nipples are not poking out.

<-- Rate this answer

...............................   

Add your answer to the question "Opinions on women going braless"

Already have an account? Login first
Don't have an account? Register in under one minute and get your own agony aunt column - recommended!

All Content Copyright (C) DearCupid.ORG 2004-2008 - we actively monitor for copyright theft

0.046875!